The bodies of the TUM University Foundation

Several bodies/instruments are involved in the running of the Foundation, with university representatives and external donors working together in an honorary capacity. They are tasked with ensuring that the Foundation’s assets are used in a meaningful way and in accordance with the guidelines. The Foundation’s activities are supervised by the government of Upper Bavaria.

  • The Foundation Board of Directors manages the business of the TUM University Foundation.
  • The Advisory Board advises and supervises the Board of Directors.
  • The Patrons’ Conference is a gathering of all donors who have contributed EUR 50,000 or more. They elect certain members to the Advisory Board.
  • The University Committee is composed of members of the university community.

Executive Board

Prof. Dr. Thomas F. Hofmann, Chairman of the Board,
President, Technische Universität München
TUM Alumnus

Susanne Wamsler, Deputy Chairman of the Board

Albert Berger
Chancellor, Technische Universität München

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang A. Herrmann
Donor and Former President of Technische Universität München
TUM Alumnus

Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Birgit Spanner-Ulmer, Chairman of the Board
TUM Professor and TUM Alumna

Dr. Franz-Robert Klingan, Deputy Chairman of the Board
Donor and TUM Alumnus

Senator E.h. Gerhard Hess

Holger Ladewig

Albrecht Fürst zu Oettingen-Spielberg
Donor and TUM Alumnus

Maximilian Schöberl
Chief Representative of BMW AG (TUM Partner of Excellence)